Tag Archives: Americana

Iron & Wine’s Archive Series Volume No.1 on his own label, Black Cricket Recording Co.

Chuck’s favourite Americana artist, Iron & Wine has continued his archival quest begun in 2009 with Around the Well.

Iron & Wine’s Archive Series Volume No.1 is the first in a series of releases pulled from tapes found in the back corners of closets and dusty shoe boxes – long neglected, but never forgotten. Sam Beam has been creating music as Iron & Wine for more than a decade; with the Archive Series, he will be gathering otherwise unreleased home recordings, covers, and live sets from his entire career and releasing them on his own label, Black Cricket Recording Co.

iron & wine new release

The songs on Volume No. 1 came to life at the same time as those selected for Iron & Wine’s debut album The Creek Drank The Cradle. The songs on Creek were only 11 of the many performed and recorded by Sam at home on a 4-track cassette. While some of this material has been widely bootlegged, it has never received a widespread or proper release until now.


Iron & Wine Archive Series Volume No. 1
Available February 24, 2015.

Pre-order 2xLP & CD today via 
Iron & Wine Webstore


  1. Slow Black River
    02. The Wind is Low
    03. Eden
    04. Two Hungry Blackbirds
    05. Freckled Girl
    06. Judgement
    07. Sing Song Bird
    08. Beyond the Fence
    09. Quarters in a Pocket
    10. Loretta
    11. Everyone’s Summer of ’95 (preview track here.)
    12. Minor Piano Keys
    13. Your Sly Smile
    14. Halfway to Richmond
    15. Wade Across the Water
    16. Postcard
  • Vinyl is 2 x LP in gatefold packaging and includes an MP3 download of entire album
  • LP pre-orders are special limited edition of white vinyl
  • The first 200 LP pre-orders include a limited edition, 12×12″ screen printed track listing hand signed by Sam – and reminiscent of the CD-R’s he created when first sharing Iron & Wine music

All pre-orders via the Iron & Wine Webstore include a free Black Cricket Recording Co. sticker


New Release by Little May – Little May EP

Little May – “Little May EP” Release date: Friday, October 10th 2014

Formed in 2012, Liz Drummond, Hannah Field and Annie Hamilton, are three high school friends, singer-songwriters from Sydney’s North. Bonding over a mutual love of The National and Local Natives, they penned sometimes quiet, always potent songs that would soon see them coined as one of Australia’s breakout acts of 2014.

After uploading their first independent single ‘Boardwalks’ to Soundcloud last year, Little May’s sound travelled quickly through the digital world – online magazines clamored to share the song and community radio eagerly slotted it into their playlists.

Little May EP Track Listing:

1. Dust
2. Hide
3. Midnight Hour
4. Bones
5. Boardwalks (*bonus track ANZ only, 5th track on EP ROW )

Every now and then, a band stops you in your tracks. Meet Little Ma



Review: Emily Jane White – Ode to Sentience

Artist: Emily Jane White
Album: Ode to Sentience
Label: Antenna Farm
Date: June 12, 2012
Rating: 68 / 100

There is magical gothic beauty to be found on this, White’s 3rd album. The opener Oh Katherine sets the tone for the best tracks of the album, from the delightful finger picking embellishing tracks throughout Ode to Sentience to her tasteful and economic use of string and piano accompaniment providing just the right amount of flesh to tracks like The Black Oak and Requiem Waltz. Of course, the skeleton of the album is the strength and fragility of Emily’s vocals. When a singer-songwriter (or band for that matter) is blessed with a quality voice, it is a pleasure to hear it shine through the production, rather than be drowned out in the instrumentation.

My only problem with this recording is the descent into what I’ll call ‘count-your-fingers country’ such as tracks The Cliff & Broken Words. When the ear starts to hear fiddle instead of violin; stop. When slide guitar impels you to put a grass stalk in your mouth; stop.

Having said that; there is so much more to admire on this album than to fear. There’s a wonderful foreboding quality to some of the tracks, providing a real atmosphere for the ears. This is mature composition, not the result of some fly by nighter given the keys to the orchestra by a new label. Looking forward to the next release, hopefully recorded in a run down gothic looking castle or a haunted old prison overlooking a rough ocean.

Links –