Tag Archives: Bear’s Den

Bear’s Den – New Video – ‘Think of England’

These guys have a bright future, loving their sound.

Dan Mangan + Blacksmith

The mesmerising film clip for ‘Think of England’ captures the cinematic moments fans have come to associate with Bear’s Dean’s powerful and provocative videos. Shot in smoky black and white by London-based director Gareth Phillips – following singles ‘Elysium’ and ‘Above the Clouds of Pompeii’and for the very first time features the band members themselves.
Horns, drums and a serpentine dancer soar in time to ‘Think of England’ – as it recounts a smouldering tale of the end of a dying relationship. The band’s signature lyrical depth partnered with melodic and harmonic twists, as it paints a picture of forgotten love.

A stark contrast to the fading fads and plastic scenes in music, Bear’s Den have won over legions of fans with their emotionally connective sound, a DIY ethos that saw them self-funding tours and hand-printed CDs, and their tender debut album released last year “Islands” – with critical acclaim from the likes of New York Times, Q Magazine and BBC Radio 1.

In just two short years, Andrew Davie (vocals and guitar), Joey Haynes (guitar) and Kev Jones (drums, bass) quietly went from pub shows to a jaw dropping headline gigs across the globe from touring the States alongside Mumford & Sons to supporting Matt Corby across Australia. For Bear’s Den, 2015 shows no signs of slowing down as they embark on a nine-show SOLD OUT tour across the UK before a further eight-date European headline tour across February and March.

“Think Of England” is the third single from the London-based trio’s hugely successful debut LP, Islands, out now through Dew Process

New Release by Bear’s Den – Islands

Andrew Davie, Joey Haynes and Kevin Jones – Bear’s Den to an ever-growing army of fans – formed a band in 2012. Two short years has seen euphoric word of mouth take them from early days of sofa surfing gigs via touring across Europe and North America to selling out their own 1500 capacity London headline show in May this year.

Islands follows the band’s EPs Without/Within and Agape and their hugely acclaimed recent single Elysium. The album was produced by Ian Grimble (Manic Street Preachers/The 1975) at 2KHz Studio in North London.

Bear’s Den – “Islands”

Released: Friday, October 17th 2014

1. Agape
2. The Love We Stole
3. Above The Clouds of Pompeii
4. Isaac
5. Think of England
6. Magdalene
7. When You Break
8. Stubborn Beast
9. Elysium
10. Bad Blood